skip to Main Content
SLIC Donate Contact Subscribe

Deaf Culture is the heart of the Deaf community everywhere in the world. Language and culture are inseparable. They are intertwined and passed down through generations of Deaf people. The Deaf community is not based on geographic proximity like Chinatown or the Italian District for example. The Deaf community is comprised of culturally Deaf people in the core of the community who use a sign language (e.g. American Sign Language or Langue des Signes Quebecois) and appreciate their heritage, history, literature, and culture.

Executive Committee

President –
Vincent Chauvet
Email: v.chauvet57@gmail.com


Vice President –
Clarence Cansicio
Email: c.cansicio@deafculturecentre.ca


Secretary –
Jenelle Rouse
Email: jrouse@deafculturecentre.ca


Treasurer –
Jaclyn Demianyk
Email: jdemianyk@deafculturecentre.ca


Director at Large –
Hannah Reisman
Email: hreisman@deafculturecentre.ca


Ambassador –
Hodan Ismael
Email: hismael@deafculturecentre.ca


Ambassador –
Mari Klassen
Email: mklassen@deafculturecentre.ca


Ambassador –
Luba Tourlova
Email: ltourlova@deafculturecentre.ca

Back To Top
Accessibility